About the FabLab Kamp-Lintfort

3D printers, 3D scanners, laser cutters and more – digital machinery is ushering in the next Industrial Revolution. Our goal is to make these technologies available to our region. To accomplish our goal, our team of the Faculty of Communication and Environment at Rhine-Waal University of Applied Sciences and the zdi Centre Kamp-Lintfort have decided to adapt an idea of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) that has since taken root in a world-wide network: the FabLab.
This ultramodern workshop puts state of the art fabrication technology at the fingertips of schools, students, entrepreneurs and businesses from around the region. The FabLab Kamp-Lintfort offers over 600 m² (6,400 ft²) of both space and machinery to make ideas into reality.
During our OpenLab events, we invite makers to participate in a community where they can implement ideas for a sustainable society. Together they engage in an exchange of ideas and knowledge because each maker is certain that digital fabrication empowers individuals to realise their ideas.

 

Our many other events are forums for presenting the possibilities of digital fabrication to specific audiences, showcasing cutting edge technology and discussing their relevance for the economy and society at-large. These events run the gamut from company trainings in conjunction with the Chambers of Industry and Commerce, Trades and Architects, to talks on internationally relevant issues with experts from the global FabLab Network (FabTalks). Our staff never cease to network with regional businesses and develop new qualification offers for industry and trades. At the same time, they are important contacts for teachers and schools, both of whom they support through the development of new teaching materials and training concepts.

As partners in the global FabLab Network, we also proudly offer the Fab Academy, a five month intensive course on digital fabrication. Directed by Neil Gershenfeld, MIT professor and founder of the FabLab movement, this internationally coordinated training programme pushes participants to their creative limits. Through the global network, Professor Gershenfeld’s are livestreamed from MIT to participating FabLabs around the world. In addition, FabLab Kamp-Lintfort is currently partnered with FabLabs in Aachen and Bottrop on the project 3D-Kompetenzzentrum Niederrhein, a centre of expertise for digital manufacturing in the Lower Rhine region.

Über das FabLab Kamp-Lintfort

3D-Drucker, 3D-Scanner, Laser Cutter & Co. – digitale Maschinen gelten als Vorboten der nächsten industriellen Revolution. Diese Techniken auch in unserer Region verfügbar zu machen – das ist unser Ziel. Dazu haben die Fakultät Kommunikation und Umwelt der Hochschule Rhein-Waal und das zdi-Zentrum Kamp-Lintfort ein Konzept des Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) adaptiert, das weltweit vernetzt ist: das FabLab.

In der High-Tech-Werkstatt sollen Schülerinnen und Schüler, Studierende, Gründer und Unternehmen mit moderner Fertigungstechnologie vertraut gemacht werden. Das FabLab Kamp-Lintfort an der Hochschule Rhein-Waal bietet auf über 600 m² nicht nur den Raum, sondern auch die nötigen Maschinen, um eigene Ideen zu verwirklichen.

Bei unserem OpenLab treffen sich Maker, um gemeinschaftlich ihre Ideen für eine nachhaltige Gesellschaft umzusetzen. Sie teilen ihr Wissen frei mit anderen Interessierten, denn Maker sind überzeugt, dass mit digitaler Fertigung jeder von uns in der Lage ist, seine Ideen in die Realität umzusetzen.

In unterschiedlichen Veranstaltungen für verschiedene Zielgruppen stellen wir die Möglichkeiten digitaler Fertigungsverfahren vor, präsentieren neue technologische Entwicklungen und diskutieren ihre ökonomische und gesellschaftliche Relevanz. Das Spektrum reicht von Veranstaltungen zur betrieblichen Weiterbildung in Kooperation mit der IHK, Handwerks- und Architektenkammern bis zu überregional bedeutsamen Vorträgen von Experten aus dem internationalen FabLab-Netzwerk (FabTalks). Unsere Mitarbeiter knüpfen Kontakte zu Unternehmen und entwickeln Bildungsangebote für Industrie und Handwerk. Sie sind Ansprechpartner für Lehrkräfte und Schulen und entwickeln Unterrichtsmaterialien und Fortbildungskonzepte.

Als Teil des internationalen FabLab-Netzwerkes bieten wir Fab Academy an, einen fünfmonatigen Intensivkurs. Neil Gershenfeld, Professor am MIT und Gründer der FabLab-Bewegung, leitet das internationale Ausbildungsprogramm rund um digitale Fertigung. Seine Vorlesungen werden live aus dem MIT in das FabLab Kamp-Lintfort übertragen.
Zur Zeit arbeiten das FabLab Kamp-Lintfort, Aachen und Bottrop gemeinsam im Projekt 3D-Kompetenzzentrum Niederrhein zusammen.